Exciting final round of the Gozo Motocross Championship 2024 fuelled by Enemed

The Gozo Motocross Association organised its Final Round of the Gozo Motocross Championship 2024 fuelled by Enemed, Sunday 5th May 2024. It was a very exciting and interesting afternoon of hard core racing. A huge crowd turned up at Ta Xhajma Motocross Track to watch their favourite riders conquer the dirt and their competitive rivals.

Steve Xuereb, winner of five consecutive Championships, is now a six time Gozitan overall Champion. Matthew Buttigieg, a two season winner, Championed Class B following his success last season in Class C. Neil Azzopardi is champion of this year’s class C. In the Junior Class Competition, Matthias Sultana is the first time ever Junior Champion at 8 years old. He raced consistently against three other opponents, winning with a grand total of 464 points.

Mr Eddie Vella, Chairman of the Gozo Sports Board presented the beautiful Victory Trophies to our Champions. Meanwhile, Mr Mark Cini presented trophies to the winners of the day.

‘The Frank Brunu Award’ was given to rider John Attard, who showed dedication and discipline during this championship. Young Matthias Sultana won the ‘Holeshot’ award. This award is presented to the rider who exits the starting gate in pole position and holds on to it for the first 500 meters.

For the first time ever, the GMA gave the opportunity to several other riders who use the GMA track but have never competed.

Female riders tested their skills on the track, during this Grand Final. An All women Class was organised featuring Emma Xuereb, Kelsey Vella and Maria Camilleri. Unfortunately Manuela Borg had a slight injury to the hand and could not compete.

Also for the first time, Mr Frank Xuereb, coach and mentor, showcased 5 young riders who showed their racing abilities on track. Philip Spiteri, Joseph Jacob Attard, Alexander Bierek, Ayann Grech and junior female rider Alicia Bierek showed great bravery and courage.

Meanwhile another new class was created as 5 Sur-Ron e-bike riders championed the dirt on their silent machines, creating a stark contrast to the typical noisy environment that we are used to. These riders were Ben Spiteri, Craig Piscopo, Jake Camilleri, Sven Muscat and another female riders Isabella.

GMA President Mr Frank Xuereb, committee member Mr Scott Donovan and treasurer Mr James Camilleri presented trophies and momentums to all participants including all Marshalls.

Leave a reply