U21 Squad announcement for March window

The Malta U21 coach Ivan Woods announced late on Sunday and at the closure of BOV Premier League Match Day 21, his 23-man squad for the March 2024 international window, underway as from Monday, with a UEFA U21 Group B Qualifier on away territories rolling and ensued with a home international friendly contest.

The team is still in pursuit of first points in this daunting cycle, however, the progress noticed since the opening match against Spain back in September last year, up till the most recent defeat at home to Kazakhstan, has been worthy of attention.

This week the Malta U21 Team travels to Belgium for yet another tough hurdle ahead, Belgium is well renowned for its direct football style of play, speed, intensity, and high-quality technique, however, the U21 team members will aim for a positive performance, respectful towards the strength of our opponents, but unfazed by the magnitude of the difficult task ahead.

In the 23-man squad selected by coach Woods, one notable addition is that of Australia-based player Dylan Scicluna who plays his football with Western Sydney Wanderers FC.

The rest of the squad is made up of familiar faces who are slowly getting more valuable experience representing their country at this level.

Malta U21 Team 23-man squad:-

Goalkeepers –  Reeves Cini (Pieta’ Hotspurs FC), Mattias Debono (Naxxar Lions FC), Hugo Sacco (Hibernians FC).

Defenders – Matthew Ellul (Żabbar SP), Zean Leonardi (Pieta’ Hotspurs FC), Owen Spiteri (Floriana FC), Jake Vassallo (Mosta FC), Jake Micallef (Leixoes FC).

Right Wingbacks – Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Karl Mohnani (Melita FC).

Left Wingbacks – Nikolai Micallef (Naxxar Lions FC), Kurt Briffa (Pieta’ Hotspurs FC).

Midfielders – Kurt Bondin (Żebbuġ Rangers FC), Andrew Borg (Gżira United FC), Dylan Scicluna (Western Sydney Wanderers FC), Matthew Debattista (Melita FC), Daniel Letherby (Santa Lucia FC), Gianluca Sciberras (Mosta FC).

Offensive Players – Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (Birkirkara FC), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Basil Tuma (Reading FC), Brooklyn Borg (Gżira United FC).

Leave a reply