Luke Montebello and Stephania Farrugia win MFA Player of the Year Award

Ħamrun Spartans forward Luke Montebello and Stephania Farrugia, the Birkirkara FC defender, were the main winners at the Malta FA Awards after being named Player of the Year on Saturday night. Montebello also won the Premier League Top Scorer Award when he netted 21 times.

In the other categories, former Floriana coach Mauro Camoranesi was rather surprisingly named as Coach of the Year.

Marsaxlokk forward Yuri Messias was named as the Best Foreign Player while Floriana defender Owen Spiteri won the Best Young Player of the Year award.

Newly-promoted Premier League side Melita won two awards on the night as Matthew Debattista was named the Best Player in the Challenge League while his team-mate Andre Carlos took the top scorer award.

During the night, the MFA awarded the Football Social Responsibility Award that went to Fgura United, while Miguel Mifsud won the President’s Award.

Meanwhile, former Floriana, Sliema Wanderers and Malta stalwart Joe Cini was inducted into the Malta FA Hall of Fame.

List of Winners:

Assikura Best Youth League Player (Women): Kaysia Micallef (Swieqi United).

Best Youth League Player (Men): Ensell Attard (Mosta).

BOV Best Young Player of the Year: Owen Spiteri (Floriana).

Izibet Amateur League Best Player: Kurt Borg (Mtarfa).

Fair Play Award: Sirens FC.

The Gozitan Achievement Award: Ann Marie Said (Birkirkara).

Foreign Player of the Year: Yuri Messias (Marsaxlokk).

President’s Award: Miguel Mifsud.

The Football Social Responsibility Award: Fgura United.

Top Scorers

Premier League: Luke Montebello (Ħamrun Spartans).

Challenge League: Andre Carlos Penha da Costa (Melita).

Amateur League: Kurt Borg (Mtarfa).

Women’s League: Salamatu Abdulai (Swieqi United).

BOV Challenge League Best Player: Matthew Debattista (Melita).

Coach of the Year Award: Mauro Camoranesi (Floriana).

Hall of Fame: Joe Cini.

Best Goal of the Year Award: Kaiden Fenech (Birkirkara F.C.) Footballer of the Year (Women): Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara).

Footballer of the Year (Men): Luke Montebello (Ħamrun Spartans).

Leave a reply