Floriana win the MFA Under 16 Youth Futsal League

Floriana won the MFA Under 16 Youth Futsal League as they beat Birkirkara 2-1 in the final. It was a very emotional and balanced game with the result that could have gone either way. Above all, the Greens were able to turn defeat into victory to achieve success in this competition.

Birkirkara surged ahead through Daniel Agius although one minute later, Daniel Camilleri equalized for the Greens. Shortly before the end of the first half, Floriana had the chance to go ahead when they were awarded a penalty but Sky Chetcuti saw his shot well saved by Birkirkara goalkeeper Sheldon Mercieca.

In the second half, Floriana scored what should have been the winning goal through Zyas Newell Vella who took advantage of a rebound to shoot the ball into the net.

At the end of the match, Floriana’s captain Zyas Newell Vella was presented with the cup by the MFA vice-president Dr. Matthew Paris alongside Mark Marlow, MFA Futsal and Beach Soccer director.

Referees were Danilo Francalanza and Andrea Naudi.

Meanwhile, Naxxar Lions won the Fair Play award with the best scorer being Aeneas Farrugia from Birkirkara. The best goalkeeper of this tournament was Gabriel Fabri from Floriana while the best player was Zyas Newell Vella from the same Greens.

Leave a reply