Netherlands bag all three points against Poland

Michał Probierz was unable to deploy injured Robert Lewandowski

UEFA Euro 2024 – Group D



Michał Probierz’s resilient Poland couldn’t hold on as a progressive Netherlands claimed all three points in UEFA EURO 2024 Group D – the sides’ first-ever meeting in a major tournament.

Wojciech Szczęsny was called into immediate action when Cody Gakpo’s drilled effort inside two minutes set the tone at Volksparkstadion.

A direct approach from the Netherlands seemed to have caught a hesitant Poland off guard as their long balls from deep targeted the heart of the Eagles’ back line.

More Dutch pressure ensued, Tijjani Reijnders dragging wide following a slick combination with Jerdy Schouten, and yet Poland stayed resolute, gained a foothold and promptly claimed the lead when Adam Buksa outjumped Dutch markers to glance in an excellent Piotr Zieliński corner.

The Oranje responded. Virgil van Dijk unleashed a volley from the edge of the area, requiring Szczęsny – the first Polish goalkeeper to appear at four EUROs – to parry. Memphis Depay also went close twice.

Michał Probierz’s side, unable to deploy the injured Robert Lewandowski, were brought back to level terms just before the half-hour when Gakpo’s strike from distance deflected past Szczęsny. Moments before half-time, Depay engineered a chance to edge the Netherlands ahead, but steered his effort wide.

Xavi Simons and Depay mustered several quick opportunities as the Oranje were quick out of traps for the second half.

In return, Poland mounted a double attack, with Jakub Kiwior and Zieliński both testing Bart Verbruggen as Probierz’s team produced perhaps their best spell.

However, just as the match appeared to be headed for a draw, 81st-minute substitute Wout Weghorst latched onto Nathan Aké’s delivery and turned in the winner.

A disappointing end for Poland, but persistence – and Ronald Koeman’s replacements – paid off for the Dutch who claimed the first victory from an lively encounter in Group D.


Poland: Szczęsny; Bednarek, Salamon (Bereszyński 86), Kiwior; Frankowski, Zieliński (Piotrowski 78), Romanczuk (Slisz 55), Zalewski; Urbański (Świderski 55), Buksa, S. Szymański (Moder 46)

Netherlands: Verbruggen; Dumfries, De Vrij, Van Dijk, Aké (Van de Ven 87); Schouten, Reijnders, Veerman (Wijnaldum 62); Simons (Malen 62), Depay (Weghorst 81), Gakpo (Frimpong 81)

Standings provided by Sofascore

Leave a reply