Cycling - National Time Trial Championship 2024 Second race

Aidan Buttigieg and Marie Claire Aquilina maintain a winning start

Aidan Buttigieg of D Sports Lab and Marie Claire Aquilina of Team Greens also won the second race of the Cycling National Time Trial Championship.  Aidan Buttigieg continued to defend the title that he won the other season where he ended up dominating in the Elite Category. At the same time, Marie Claire Aquilina did the same and won the Category reserved for Women’, which races were held on Sunday 16 June 2024 at the Fleur-de-Lys circuit. Each lap was 2.5km where the Elite, the Under 23’s, the Masters, the Women, and the Juniors did 10 Laps, meters the other categories did: the Under 12’s (2 Lap), the Under 14’s (4 Lap), the Under 16’s (6 laps).

Aidan Buttigieg finished first in the Elite when he finished his race in a time of 34:16.52, an advantage of two minutes and 10 seconds over John Camilleri of B’Kara SJ (36:26.76). Clive Bugeja of Mosta CC finished in third place (37:21.87). The Women’s race resulted in one dominated by Team Greens cyclists, with Marie Claire Aquilina finishing first at 41:20.35, an advantage of 3 minutes and 11 seconds over her partner Diana Muscat (44:32.24). Michelle Vella Wood also of Team Greens finished third (45:07.74).

Luke Borg of The Cyclist-Agones won the Under 23 Category in a time of 37:48.06. Two Mosta CC cyclists finished behind him, Jacob Schembri (38:09.79) and Clyve Chetcuti (38: 48.88). The Masters 40+ Category was again won by Luis Joaquin Rojas Guzman of Team Greens in a time of 36:41.77. Mark Zammit of Mosta CC (38:28.32) and David Cushing of B’kara St Joseph (40:49.94) followed respectively. Kevin Muscat of Mosta CC won the Masters 50+ Category in a time of 41:00.78 in front of Joseph Caruana of Team Greens (46:26.91).

Ryan Gatt of The Cyclist-Agones won the Under 16 Male Category in a time of 24:47.56. Zia Fuji of Shamrock Stars won the Girls’ Under 14 Category when she completed her four laps in a time of 18:17.69 ahead of Nina Debono also of Shamrock Stars (19:25.52) and Katie Vella Wood of Team Greens (20:32.38). Goben Gao of Mosta CC won the Under 14 Boys Category in a time of 17:12.27 in front of two cyclists respectively from Shamrock Stars, Liam Daly (17:17.48) and Jake Refalo (17:24.88). Ria Debono of Shamrock Stars won the Under 12 Girls Category in a time of 10:54.25 ahead of Amy St John of Mosta CC (11:11.71) while Ethan Cumbo of Mosta CC won the Category of -Under 12 Boys in a time of 09:02.89 in front of his friends Zacchery Vella (10:58.43) and Timothy Grech (11:00.56).

After the races, the winning cyclists were presented with medals by Joe Bajada, Secretary General of the Maltese Cycling Federation. The next race will be next Sunday 23 June 2024, the third one of the same Time Trial Championship. It will be held in the Quarter of a Mile in Ħal Far and will start with the first children’s race at 8:00 am.

Click HERE to learn more about this promotion! (18+)

Leave a reply