Island Car Club organised the first round of the 2024 National Hillclimb Championship at Mtaħleb

From early in the day, one could notice that Mark Micallef, in his Norma M20 Mugen, had a great start to the new championship ahead of him.

Micallef climbed the hill in 59.004 seconds and was closely followed by Jean Vella in his Jedi F1000 at 59.135 seconds and Noel Galea in his Ford Escort Mk2 at 59.300 seconds.

Noel Galea won the rear-wheel-drive category, as Didier Bugeja won the front-wheel-drive category with his Peugeot 106. In his Subaru Impreza, Josef Calleja won the four-wheel-drive category, and Isaac Burlò was the fastest in the classic car category with his Mini Cooper.

In her BMW 1 series, Martina Caruana was the fastest woman driver, whilst David Grech was the quickest veteran over 60 in his competitive Ford Escort Mk 2.

Sacha Blanco won the streetcar category with his Honda-powered Toyota MRS, whilst Calvin-Lee Mifsud was the fastest under twenty-five driver at the wheel of his Honda Civic.

Hence, the overall winner of the first round of the championship is Mark Micallef, followed by Jean Vella and Noel Galea.

Josef Abela was Clerk of the Course, Jeremy Cassar was Deputy CoC, Susanne Fenech was Secretary of the Meeting, George Muscat was Steward, and Joe Formosa was Timekeeper.

The next round is scheduled for the 14th of April, with the venue still to be announced.

Leave a reply