Germany into quarters

UEFA Euro 2024 – Last 16



Kai Havertz and Jamal Musiala netted goals in the second half, propelling Germany into the quarter-finals of UEFA EURO 2024. Germany faced a strong challenge from Denmark, but they managed to secure the victory amidst intense drama. The match began under sunny skies in Dortmund, but as kick-off approached, dark clouds loomed overhead. Germany wasted no time in taking control of the game, with Nico Schlotterbeck coming close to scoring within the first ten minutes. Joshua Kimmich and Havertz also tested Kasper Schmeichel’s skills, leaving fans wondering when, not if, Germany would find the back of the net.

However, Denmark proved adept at weathering storms and soon gained a foothold in the match. Just as the heavens opened up, Kasper Hjulmand’s team found their rhythm. Unfortunately for the passionate German supporters, a storm struck at the 35-minute mark and forced the teams off the field.

When the game resumed, the hosts’ dominance persisted as Havertz’s header forced Schmeichel to make a good save. At the other end, Manuel Neuer, who was 38 years old and a year older than his counterpart, was called into action as he rushed off his line to block Rasmus Højlund’s shot on the counterattack. The match continued with both teams creating chances.

After the restart, Joachim Andersen’s attempt was ruled offside, and shortly after that, the defender was penalized for handball, giving Havertz the opportunity to score from the penalty spot. Havertz and Højlund both came close to scoring before Musiala calmly converted Schlotterbeck’s long pass to secure a place in the next round against Spain or Georgia on Friday.

Click HERE to learn more about this promotion! (18+)


Germany: Neuer; Kimmich, Rüdiger, Schlotterbeck, Raum (Henrichs 80); Andrich (Can 64), Kroos; Sané (Anton 88), Gündoğan (Füllkrug 64), Musiala (Wirtz 81); Havertz

Denmark: Schmeichel; Andersen, Vestergaard, Christensen (Bruun Larsen 81); Bah (Kristiansen 82), Delaney (Nørgaard 69), Højbjerg, Mæhle; Skov Olsen (Poulsen 69), Højlund (Wind 81), Eriksen (Damsgaard 81)

Leave a reply