Kogl and Muscat Dominate in Majjistral Park

Anchu Kogl is closing in on the possibility of winning the 2024 Cisk 0.0 National Points Series, hosted by the Malta Mountain Bike Association, as he claimed another victory on Saturday during the fourth stage of the series held in Majjistral Park.

In sweltering heat, Saturday’s race saw Clyve Chetcuti lead the pack for most of the race, ahead of Kogl, Mark Bonnici, Etienne Bonello, and Etienne Cutajar. As in previous races, Kogl adopted a controlled and strategic approach, calmly rising through the ranks as the race progressed. Nonetheless, Bonello was also chasing the pack and was a possible contender for a win had he not punctured in the final lap, making way for Kogl to take the win and settling for third place behind Chetcuti.   

Diana Muscat led the female charge to secure another comfortable win, putting herself in a better position to claim this year’s series. She was followed on the podium by Lara Buttigieg and Fiona Tedesco.

The 40+ Category was won by Joaquin Rojas, who remains unbeaten. He was followed by Alex Portelli and Ian Camilleri on the podium. The 50+ Category was won by Stephen Grima, followed by Adrian Bezzina and Mario Zammit. The Sport Category was won by Josmar Vella, whilst  Robert Magro won the E-Bike category. All four winners are currently topping their respective leaderboards.

In the Junior Categories, James Vassallo won the U19 category. Ryan Gatt was the sole rider in the U17 Boys category. Neil Cassar, Leo Buccheri, and Ethan Cumbo completed the U15 Boys podium, while Nina Debono and Katie Anne Vella Wood took first and second place in the U15 Girls race. Zac Bugeja edged Zack Saliba for the win in the U12 race, with Nolan Tabone taking third place.

“With the Series drawing to a close, we have a good indication of possible winners but there is a lot of determination by all riders, meaning that no one will give up the fight easily. We will have to wait until the final race at the end of the month to see who the overall winners will be taking the coveted podium,” commented Pierre Zammit Endrich, President of the Malta Mountain Bike Association.

The final race of the Cisk 0.0 National Points Series will take place on Saturday, 29th June. The race venue will be announced by the Association on its respective social channels.

Leave a reply