San Giljan JP Projects SportMalta Cup Winners

San Giljan JP Projects beat Sliema 9-7 to win the SportMalta Cup.

Sliema Frank Salt ……….. 7

San Ġiljan JP Projects… 9

(3-2), (3-1), (0-3), (1-3)

In the second part of the game, the reaction from San Ġiljan JP Projects was sufficient for them to win the first edition of the SportMalta Cup. San Ġiljan’s performance wasn’t phenomenal, but their display in the third and fourth sessions, along with Sliema’s collapse, resulted in another victory for San Ġiljan, who had Darren Zammit missing. Despite facing challenges, no one can deny the outstanding performance of Sliema’s goalkeeper Nicky Grixti, who was the best player of the game.

He stood out in the first session with a number of interventions. Sliema never recovered during the session, as Jeremy Abela and Ben Plumpton responded to the goals from Liam Galea and Jayden Cutajar on a man-up situation, while Dino Zammit placed them in the net for the third time, concluding the session.

The game remained balanced in the second session, but Sliema managed to build a comfortable lead of 6-3 with two goals that could have been easily prevented by the Ġiljan defense. The consecutive goals came from Jayden Cutajar on a man-up situation and Dino Zammit for the third time, concluding the session.

San Giljan experienced a reaction with the advantage of three goals and their performance changed the course of the game. They improved in their game against Sliema but lacked efficiency in the final moments. Jeremy Abela scored a double in a short period of time, while captain Matthew Zammit secured a draw with a powerful shot, leading to protests from Giljan’s coach Zeljko Kovacic.

In the final session, San Giljan took the lead for the first time with a goal from Nikolai Zammit and gained control of the game from there. Sliema struggled to regain the advantage and missed several opportunities. The two goals from Ben Plumpton turned the game around and the celebration began for the present supporters.

At the end of the game, San Giljan’s captain Matthew Zammit was presented with a trophy by SportMalta’s CEO Mark Cutajar, accompanied by ASA President Karl Izzo.

Sliema: N. Grixti, E. Schembri (2), L. Galea (1), J. Chircop, J. Cassar, B. Cachia, J. Cutajar (2), D. Rizzo, J. Brownrigg, A. Galea, Z. Mizzi, D. Zammit, M. Castillo (2), J. Gambin

San Ġiljan: J. Tanti, N. Bugelli (1), G. Bonavia, B. Plumpton (3), R. Caruana, M. Zammit (1), J. Bonavia, D. Tully, J. Abela (3), N. Zammit (1), N. Bonavia, N. Schiavone, G. Borg

Referees: Ronnie Spiteri, Peter Balzan

Leave a reply