Malta Rugby National Teams Set to Compete in Rugby Europe Conference 1 in Belgrade

The Malta Rugby Football Union (MRFU) has announced the participation of both the men’s and women’s national rugby 7s teams in the Rugby Europe Conference 1 tournament taking place in Belgrade this weekend.
The women’s team, under the guidance of coach Carmelo Longo, will compete in Pool A alongside Moldova, Lithuania, and Estonia.

The pool matches are scheduled for Friday, with two ranking matches and the finals to follow on Saturday. Catania, Dalli, Farrugia, and Munro, who will be making their national team debut.

The selected squad for the women’s team is as follows:

Sairita Cassar Amber Dalli Rebekka Bartolo Tessabelle Sultana Evans (Captain), Amy Munro Raisa Farrugia Myra Bonello Jacqueline Richard
Francesca Catania Donevellon Sladden Penelope Saverton Denise Camilleri

The men’s team, coached by Keith Hopkins, will face Denmark and Finland in Pool A on Saturday, with additional games and the finals scheduled for Sunday. The squad includes six debutants: Aidan Demicoli, Aidan Dwight Mallia, Blake Scott, George Strickland, Nicky Vella, and Jean Pierre Zarb.

The selected squad for the men’s team is as follows:

Kyle Gauci Zarrin Galea Jean Pierre Zarb Aidan Demicoli
Aidan Dwight Mallia Clememt Gruyer Blake Scott Jake Pace
Ryan Felice Nicky Vella Jean Scholey George Strickland
Brendan Dalton (Captain)

All matches will be shown live on

The MRFU extends its gratitude to SportMalta, the Maltese Olympic Committee, Cisk, Farsons, Nike, and the Hudson Group for their continued support.

Click HERE and learn to ‘Win a trip to EURO 2024!

Leave a reply