Clayton Castaldi and Tenishia Thornton shine bright at the 64th edition of the Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali

The winners of the Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali were announced on Saturday evening during a live transmission aired on TVMSport+ as well as on the Malta Sports Journalists Association’s Facebook page. The 64th edition final night started with the Red Carpet hosted by Malta Sports Journalists Association’s General Secretary Lorraine Cunningham and Chris Falzon.

Guest speakers during this event included the Minister responsible for Education, Sport, Youth, Research and Innovation, Hon. Clifton Grima and Sandro Micallef, President of the Malta Sports Journalists Association. Those present were also honoured with the  presence of AIPS Europe President Charles Camenzuli.

This annual awards ceremony was organised by the Malta Sports Journalists Association and supported by the Ministry for Education, Sport, Youth, Research, and Innovation.

During the live show hosted by Clinton Buhagiar and Janice Briffa, a total of 12 honours were announced, seven of which were a result of the votes by the jury. The rest of the awards included the People’s Choice Award, the International Sports Event of the Year and the new Sport for Social Change Award chosen by the Executive Committee of the Malta Sports Journalists Association and other two were given out upon a nomination by Special Olympics Malta.

The honours were won as follows:

Sportsman of the Year – Clayton Castaldi (Pool)

Sportswoman of the Year – Tenishia Thornton (Weightlifting)

Youth Man Athlete of the Year – Jake Castaldi (Blackball)

Youth Woman Athlete of the Year – Kim Camilleri Laganà (Weightlifting)

Team of the Year – Women’s National Football Team

Coach of the Year – Manuela Tesse (Women’s Football National Team)

Official of the Year – Christabel D’Amato (Special Olympics Malta)

International Sports Event of the Year –  Games for Small States of Europe – GSSE 2023

People’s Choice Award – Sophie St. John (Gymnastics)

Special Olympics Athlete Man Award – Luke Burke (Bowling)

Special Olympics Athlete Woman Award – Nevice Grech (Bocce)

Sport for Social Change Award – Fgura United F.C.

Hall of Fame – Henry Brincat and Leonard Zammit

The detailed result will be published in the coming days.

Leave a reply