Manuela Tesse announces final squad ahead of two international friendlies

The Malta Women National Team Coach Manuela  Tesse has announced the final 22-player squad ahead of the two international friendlies being played at Tony Bezzina Stadium this week, all part of the VisitMalta Women’s International Friendlies.

The Malta WNT kicks off their commitments against the Faroe Islands on Thursday before facing Belarus on Sunday both games kick off at 18:00.

The girls last faced Faroe Islands in 2017 during the European Women’s Championship’s Preliminary Round, losing the game 2:4, whereas this will be the first encounter for the WNT against Belarus, who currently lie 57th in the FIFA rankings.

These friendlies mark the first appearance for the girls in 2024, they will serve as preparation for the European Qualifiers, as the draws for the upcoming competition will be pitted next month.

Coach Tesse has been following the progress of both local and foreign-based players but was forced to make some changes due to injuries for a few squad members.

WNT Final Squad:

GOALKEEPERS – Maya Cachia (Como, Italy), Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara FC).

DEFENDERS – Rebecca Bajada (Mġarr Utd FC), Amy Busuttil (Hibernians FC), Jessica Dimech (Swieqi Utd FC), Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara FC), Valentina Rapa (Birkirkara FC), Ann Marie Said (Birkirkara FC), Sarah Urpani (Hibernians FC), Charlene Zammit (Birkirkara FC).

MIDFIELDERS – Brenda Borg (Mġarr Utd FC), Rachel Cuschieri (Sampdoria, Italy), Veronique Mifsud (Birkirkara FC), Dorianne Theuma (Swieqi Utd FC), Gabriella Zahra (Birkirkara FC), Shona Zammit (Swieqi Utd FC).

FORWARD PLAYERS – Haley Bugeja (Inter, Italy), Yulya Carella (Mgarr Utd FC), Ylenia Carabott (London Seaward FC, England), Maria Farrugia (Lewes FC, England), Jade Flask (Swieqi Utd FC), Alishia Sultana (Birkirkara FC).

Leave a reply