Gżira are the sole leaders of the VMFA CISK Premier League as they saw off a mighty Birkirkara St Helen's side 8-6.

It was an interesting game as Gzira seemed to be running away with it in the first half with a brace from Ian Zammit and also Valdo but Ayrton Buhagiar pulled Birkirkara back into it with a brace himself. From there on in, the game was highly competitive but Gzira managed to tug away from their opponents as they came out with an 8-6 win. Valdo scoring yet another brace to make it a poker while Ian Zammit got another for the hat trick and Trevor Cilia scoring from the spot to make matters worse for Birkirkara who had Ayrton Buhagiar as their main protagonist as he went on to score a poker and had one of his many shots throughout the game, deflected and going in as an autogoal.
With this result, Gzira are now first in the table, three points above their opponents.

Champions MFPA ran rampant with an 8-1 win over a disappointing Rabat. Mark Barbara was the star of the show alongside Carlo Mamo as they scored a poker and a hat trick respectively while Roderick bajada also joined the party with a goal to his name. Timothy zammit was the only goalscorer for Rabat as they only managed to score once in a game where they found themselves simply outclassed by an outstanding MFPA performance.

Zurrieq Wolves grabbed their first win of the season with a 5-3 win over Luxol.
Ahmed Trabelsi and Mario Camilleri scoring a brace each whilst Roderick Caruana also added to Zurrieq’s tally. A goal each from Manolito Micallef, Mauro Camoranesi and Micheal Borg Olivier wasn’t enough for the Luxol side as they fell to a rather surprising loss when looking at the table.

There was also an enticing clash between Hibernians and Zejtun Redstars with the former managing to beat the team from Zejtun. Alan Tabone, Glenn Bonello, Adrian Lanzon and Jeffrey Chetcuti all contributed for the three points as a brace from Nikolai Filipov was just a mere consolation for the losing side.

Standings – VMFA Cisk Premier League

Gżira United 22, Birkirkara St Helen’s 19, MFPA 17, Hibernians 15, Rabat Veterans, Luxol 10 , Żejtun Red Stars 9, Żurrieq Wolves 3

Leave a reply